Book Review- If I Stay

Hey guys!

So quite a few people (well more than usual) seemed to like my last book review on Zoe Sugg’s Girl Online. So i thought I’d do another one on another book I’ve read recently.

So here are my thoughts on If I Stay by Gayle Forman.

It’s an award winning, New York Times bestselling book and after hearing some good things about it, I decided I should check it out.

And I thought it was amazing!

81aTBRY7dxL

So here’s the blurb, so you can have some idea what I’m talking about…

“Mia had everything: a loving family, a gorgeous, adoring boyfriend, and a bright future full of music and full of choices. Then, in an instant, almost all of that is taken from her. Caught between life and death, between a happy past and an unknowable future, Mia spends one critical day contemplating the only decision she has left – the most important decision she’ll ever make.” If I Stay, Gayle Forman

This book is really beautiful and if you need a good cry it is perfect. It follows the story of Mia who has to decide, after being in a car accident and being on the verge of death, whether to stay or go with her family. It is both tragic and life affirming. That sounds very New York Times review but you know what I mean.

I really love how it is written in flashbacks. It gives you a little bit of information on the history of the characters and then about the current situation. It’s easy to follow but also really interesting and exciting.

This book is also thought-provoking. The question, ‘What would you do if you had to choose?’, is confronting. Would I stay if I lost my family in a car accident? Would the survivors guilt and constant sympathy be worth the chance to live? Or would living be pointless without your family? It’s a difficult thing to think about.

It then makes me wonder if you would have a choice in the situation, of living or dying. It’s really scary and I suppose it would depend on the particular situation, as to what your choice would be.

I did kind of feel like there should be more of a twist to the story. Like Adam (Mia’s boyfriend) admitting to cheating or something, but he continued to be perfect. I don’t know, I just felt like there was something missing in the storyline. It was probably just me, oh well. Forget about it. It was still amazing.

Back to the point of Adam being so perfect. Arghhh, relationship goals! He’s a musician and he’s sensitive. He’s gorgeous and so perfect! New fictional crush. Don’t judge, unless you’ve read it. 😉

I read ‘Where She Went’, which is the sequel, straight after and liked it even more. Though it hurt a bit to see a broken Adam. 😦 But there’s a happy ending so YAY!

Now, I’m going to see if I can check out the movie and compare it. Though I doubt it will compare, but you never know, I suppose.

tumblr_n7jgwkJgnY1txydcmo1_1280

To conclude, I would recommend this to anyone who needs a good cry or who likes a little romance. It’s a really beautiful story and so sad too. It raises some big questions and even after I’d finished reading, I couldn’t stop thinking about it for days.

And that’s pretty much it. If you want, you could let me know what you thought if you’ve read it.

Also, if you have a favourite book, I would love some book suggestions!

Thanks for your support, I should be posting more often now because I just finished my exam block.

Lots of love and virtual hugs xx ❤

2 thoughts on “Book Review- If I Stay

Leave a Reply

