Book Review- The Duff

Another book review. YAY! I’m on a bit of a roll lately because I finished all of my assignments and exams. So therefore I have nothing else better to do with my life! Not that reading 24/7 is necessarily a bad thing. Well, I don’t think so.

Anyway, I’m rambling! Stop. Gosh, it sounds like I have schizophrenia. I promise, I don’t.

Moving on… I watched the movie, The Duff, on the Easter holidays and I thought it was fabulous. It was really funny and also kind of romantic and cute. So when I found out there was a book, I knew I had to read it (because books are always better than the movies.)

The-Duff-Book-Cover-530x800

Here is the blurb of The Duff, by Kody Keplinger…

‘Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper may not be the prettiest girl at school, but she has a loyal group of friends, biting wit, and a spot-on BS detector. She’s also too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut Wesley. But when he casually refers to Bianca as the Duff of her crew – the designated ugly fat friend – the gloves are off!

But things aren’t so great at home and Bianca. desperate for a distraction, ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it, and before she knows it she’s in a secret enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.

Until it all goes terribly wrong. It turns out Wesley  isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realises with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.’

Okay, so it’s very teen angst-y (yes, that is now a word.) But a lot of people like that kind of thing. I don’t mind it but sometimes it gets a to be a bit too much, I mean, I deal with it everyday at school. Enough is enough. Even though the blurb makes this sound a cheesy cliché romance movie, it’s actually much more than that.

Bianca is very sarcastic and grumpy, so for me she is quite relatable. I wish I was kidding. She doesn’t care much about what people think of her or how she looks. But things are tough for at home, with her parents having a divorce and her dad starting to drink again after 18 years of being sober. Yeah, things would suck.

So she throws herself at some guy she hates.

Fair enough, I guess. I don’t really know if that’s how I’d handle it, but we all react differently to problems.

I did feel like when I was reading it, that Bianca wasn’t really ugly, she just felt that way. I had a feeling that she was actually quite beautiful but self conscious. And Wesley, calling her the designated ugly fat friend would not have helped.

tumblr_njd0irdUqm1rkciaro1_r2_500

I could also tell from the start that she might have a bit of a thing for Wesley. It was just buried so deep, deep down, in layers of denial and disbelief that it looked like hate, even to her. That is a bit of an obvious twist, I think, but I liked it anyway. I think Wesley could have too, you never know.

I also really liked how they were both bettered from their relationship, even if it started out as only physical. Wesley became less flirtatious and womanising and Bianca became less bitter and hateful.

I found that this book also had a really important message to the world. That names and classifications of people are just that. They shouldn’t be given out so easily and without knowing that persons situation. You cannot judge someone fairly, without knowing their story. I think this is really important and more people should know or realise that.

This book is absolutely nothing like the movie, not even vaguely. Some of the characters have the same names but they are not even mildly alike. But I have accepted that and I’m okay with it. I enjoyed both the book and the movie in different ways and for different reasons.

cdn.indiewire

CONLCUSIONS! I would recommend you read this, if you like unexpected romance and opposites attracting and all that good stuff. This book also has an important message that I think should be spread to more people. I quite enjoyed it, it wasn’t my favourite ever, but it was still pretty damn good. If you plan to watch the movie instead of the book, don’t expect to get the same story, because they are so completely different.

Thanks for reading! I’m going to try to read some different kinds of books, because all my reviews so far have been teen romances and I want you guys to know that that isn’t the only thing I read. Just recently it has been.

Let me know what you thought of it, if you’ve read it.

Please leave me a book suggestion, if you have one. I will read pretty much anything. 🙂

Until next time,

Virtual hugs xx ❤

2 thoughts on “Book Review- The Duff

Leave a Reply

