Book Review- Eleanor & Park

Hello friends!

So here’s another book review for you. I’m going to try to make this at least a weekly thing, instead of my current sporadic posting. The book I most recently read is Eleanor and Park, by Rainbow Rowell. I know I said that I would be doing some different genre reviews, but oh well. You’ll have to deal with it. I will do some different reviews eventually.

15745753

Here is the blurb for Eleanor and Park…

Eleanor is the new girl in town, and with her chaotic family life, her mismatched clothes and unruly red hair, she couldn’t stick out more if she tried.

Park is the boy at the back of the bus. Black T-shirts, headphones, head in a book – he thinks he’s made himself invisible. But not to Eleanor… never to Eleanor.

Slowly, steadily, through late-night conversations and an ever-growing stack of mix tapes, Eleanor and Park fall for each other. They fall in love the way you do the first time, when you’re young, and you feel as if you have nothing and everything to lose.

This book is set in 1986, which is something a bit different for a modern young adult novel. It was a little interesting too, because my mum would have been about the same age as the characters in the time the story was set, which was interesting to think about.

park-1

This story was really cute and sweet, but it also had some very serious messages. I did really enjoy it though and I could not put it down. I could not predict where the story was going and I just wanted to know so badly!

I loved the two main characters and I felt like they were my two best friends while reading it and I felt like I understood them. Eleanor was dry, sarcastic and a little grumpy at times. She had mismatched clothes due to her tough family life and crazy red hair. She is bullied, because she is different and sticks out so much. Then there’s Park in the background.

I love how the relationship evolved (possible spoilers, but the blurb told you so not really.) They hate each other at first sight , which is such a passionate emotion to start with. Me, as a crazy fangirl immediately decided to ship them, but maybe that was just me.

It’s like they both don’t realise what’s happening between them, until it’s done and there’s no going back. It’s just so unexpected and beautiful and… and kind of refreshing. A breath of fresh air with the humble, innocent beginnings of a relationship.

I also really like how Romeo and Juliet was intertwined a bit into the story, which I thought was interesting, because I’m currently studying it. If you want to check out my post Love at First Sight, I mention a bit about this.

tumblr_n1rfpyPB3S1rp3lo4o1_r1_500

Some of the other themes in the book are quite confronting and scary. There is divorce, bullying, underage drinking, drug use and almost sexual abuse. Parts of it are so confronting, but also so important.

Something else that also comes up is popularity and social image and overcoming that and not caring about that. Something Park had to overcome was shallow insecurity and being worried about what others thought about him and his relationships. He had been so lucky to fit in with the popular group and to kind of fly under the radar. I really related to trying to get over these shallow thoughts and insecurities.

So to sum it up, I would definitely recommend this if you are in need of a refreshing, innocent romance. This book is PERFECT and extremely difficult to put down. It’s so beautifully written and I really love Rainbow Rowell (I’ve also read Fangirl and am counting down the days until Carry On comes out- OCTOBER 6!!.) So I would highly suggest you check out at least one of her books, because she is so amazing!

That’s it! Hope you like it. I will be trying to post a new book review every Friday, but we’ll see how I go 🙂 Thank you so much for supporting me, it means a lot to me, you taking the time to read this. ❤

Virtual hugs xx

2 thoughts on “Book Review- Eleanor & Park

Leave a Reply

