Dream, Believe, Work Hard, Achieve

I think one of the most important things to accept in life is the fact that you won’t get anything you want without working for it. But life will be much easier if you do accept that.

Some people seem to get everything they want or need handed to them simply by request. So why shouldn’t it happen for you? Well, to be realistic this is not the way it works and you will be much more fulfilled and satisfied in life if you work for what you want and achieve it, rather than waiting for it to come to you.

A dream becomes a goal when you look at the steps you must take to achieve it. The dream is achieved when you believe you can do it and work hard for it.

This is a fact that I had to come to terms with at a fairly young age, as a gymnast. One of the first things that gymnastics will teach you is that you won’t improve without a lot of hard work. You won’t become an Olympian overnight (this was the hardest thing to accept.) You will have to work your body incredibly hard day after day and even then it might not be enough. There will be blood and bruises and possibly broken bones before you get a single skill. As a gymnast, I had to accept that I wouldn’t achieve a round-off flic unless I worked hard. I would have to repeat the skill progressions and the physical progressions over and over again. I would have to trust myself and try the skill and fail over and over again. I would have to receive coach feedback and repeat the skill over and over again until I perfected it. I would have to work hard to perfect this one skill, among many others.

And even though my example, a round-off flic, may be a fairly simple skill in the world of gymnastics, I personally had to work very hard in the beginning to obtain this skill. And that is the way it is in real life, too. Some things will come easier than others. Sometimes things with be tough. Times will be tough. But if you continue to work hard you will eventually get the results you want.

You have to know and hope that on the other side of the struggle will be something good. This is best said in one of my favourite quotes…

“If you’re going through hell, keep going.”

Winston Churchill

I suppose, I was lucky to be exposed to this at the age of 6 and for this to continue to be something that I live by. When I come to challenges in this road that we call life, I am aware and willing to give it my all to overcome it.

My determination to always do the best that I can in everything I do transcends into my school work and allows me to excel at times. (I’m not boasting by saying this, I’m just trying to make a point.) Many other people my age don’t try very hard at school and expect to do well with little to no effort on their part. They want good grades to be handed to them on a silver platter. They then proceed to call people like me ‘boring,’ ‘nerds’ and ‘teachers pets.’ Simply, because I want to succeed and am willing to do my best to succeed and they don’t feel the same.

Now it might sounds like I’m on a bit of a high horse by saying this. And maybe I am. But I just think that getting what you want in life isn’t always as hard as people would make it out to be. If you put your mind and heart and soul into something then you will succeed, even if it isn’t always how you might have originally imagined it.

You cannot go through life expecting all of your dreams in life to come true if you are sitting still. You will be unsatisfied and unfulfilled. I don’t believe you can be truly happy if you allow yourself to expect things rather than going out and getting them. And the way I see it, this life is meant for us to be happy within ourselves.

And we’ll finish off with a Miranda Kerr affirmation…

“I create my success daily, every decision, every choice I makes impacts the world. I live my life to the fullest knowing that I am justly rewarded with the success I choose.”

Miranda Kerr, ‘Treasure Yourself’


Thank you so much for reading and supporting me even though I’ve been a little bit M.I.A.

Two things before I sign off-

  1. I would definitely recommend trying gymnastics or enrolling your children in gymnastics to teach them determination as well as a variety of other benefits.
  2. I would also highly suggest reading Miranda Kerr’s book, ‘Treasure Yourself.’ I briefly mentioned it in two of my older posts- Timeless Beauty and Happiness Equation. There are some truly inspiring words from a truly inspiring woman.

I love you all!

Virtual hugs ❤

One thought on “Dream, Believe, Work Hard, Achieve

Leave a Reply

