Book Review- The Giver

Hello and welcome to your Friday book review!

So today I will be reviewing The Giver, by Lois Lowry, which is one of my all-time favourite books. At the moment anyway (it depends on my mood πŸ˜‰ ) I’ve read this book twice now, which is a big deal because the only other books I’ve read more the once are the Harry Potter books. Enough said! So I hope you enjoy and that you might consider reading it if you haven’t already.

the-giver

Here is the blurb…

Intelligence. Integrity. Courage. Wisdom.

These are the qualities a Receiver of Memory must have. And one more which can only be named, but not described. TheΒ Capacity to See Beyond.

Jonas lives safely within the community, a place where there is not war, no hunger and no pain. But when he is selected as the Receiver of Memory, he starts to discover dark secrets that lie beneath the surface of his perfect world. Secrets that will lead him to undertake an incredible journey…

The Giver, by Lois Lowry

The story is set in a futuristic utopian society, where everyone gets the same and is treated equally, but as you continue to read you realise that the peace is manufactured and more dystopian than utopian. Their community, because of wars or something similar (I assume), converted everything to what they call Sameness and in gaining control of things like the weather and relationships, they lost things that we take for granted. The main thing being love.

This story for me was very thought provoking and powerful. Both times I’ve read it in under two days, because I could not and did not want to put it down. I just love it so much and want everyone to read it. I would say that it should be compulsory for all school kids to read, but I find I can never fully appreciate a book when it is being torn to shreds by my English teacher. I also don’t want people to have anything bad to say about this book. I might go a bit crazy if they did.

tumblr_m7p2kuqeKx1r9jybbo1_1280

There is an allocated person in the community to hold all the memories of before the community began. Our memories, which is such an immense thing to think about. The Receiver of Memory has to hold all of the memories of the world, all the good things and all the tragic and horrific things. That just blows my mind.

I love that you slowly learn more and more things about the community and the rules and it constantly shocks you. I want to tell you more, but I don’t want to spoil it for you. So just read it, okay?

bcb4d3c505275f0a55ecb4622ed03a18

I also just found out that there are three other books after this one that kind of connect up. So I will need to find them and read them as soon as possible! Though in my eyes they have a lot to live up to, because The Giver is total perfection.

There is also a movie for this book, but I am very hesitant to watch it, because it has a lot to live up to. Though it does have Taylor Swift in it, which is pretty awesome 😍

To conclude, I would highly recommend everyone read this. It is aimed at young adults, but I think it’s an amazing read for any age and I think if you are older you’ll just appreciate it more. This book feels very important to me and I just love it so much. The way it’s written gives you little pieces of the story and the setting at a time, which keeps you hooked and the story is fairly short and easy to read. It’s very thought provoking and I could not stop thinking about it for days after reading it, maybe even weeks. So, in short, just read it.

Let me know what you thought about this post or the book if you’ve read it. πŸ™‚

If you have an book suggestions, I would love to some! Not that I don’t already have enough on my TBR list, but still.


I would like to thank all of you for putting up with me and bearing with me, while I try to make a schedule for posting. I also thank you for waiting, while I try to work out what this blog is about and letting me try different things. I’m still not really sure if this blog is about my personal feelings, motivation or books. Or if it can be about all of them. I don’t know yet. So thanks for sticking with me, while I work that out.

Lots of love,

Virtual hugs ❀

3 thoughts on “Book Review- The Giver

    • belleinfini says:

      I didn’t even realise there was more books in the series so it was a nice surprise when I found out. I will definitely look into getting a copy of them. Thank you for the comment and follow! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

