Book Review – Joel And Cat Set The Story Straight

Hello! Here is your Friday book review two days late. But better late than never though, right?

Book: Joel and Cat Set The Story Straight

Author: Nick Earls and Rebecca Sparrow

Year published: 2007

Genre: YA

Rating: 5

9780143006916

Joel and Cat Set the Story Straight is two weeks in the life of Joel Hedges and Cat Davis.
Joel would prefer to get through his final year of high school without Cat Davis or his mother’s faux Spanish boyfriend and just hang-out with his best-friend Luke.
Cat Davis has an annoying best-friend, an even more annoying little brother, and a deep abiding hatred of Joel Hedges.

Due to an unfortunate incident involving a leaking pen and suspected outbreak of Bird Flu, Joel and Cat are forced to sit next to each other in Extension English.
To make matters worse, and to their mutual horror, they are paired together for a tandem story writing assignment.

What ensues reveals a lot about how smug teenage boys are and what teenage girls really think. No, wait – it’s about a sane female and an insane male. It’s about revenge and mistaken identity.

This book is absolutely hilarious and was really, really hard to put down. Yes, homework was neglected throughout the reading of this book. I regret nothing. This story was very funny to start with and gradually built up to the main problem, allowing you to learn to love the characters and cheer for them when things got tough.

I LOVED that it was set in Australia and written by Australians, because it is so much more relatable for me. The story was set in Brisbane, which is close to where I live, which was awesome and I knew some of the places the characters were going. It was also better, because I got a lot more of the references to places and things. For example, the references to restaurants and TV shows. It was just so much cooler knowing what the characters were talking about from personal experience rather than Google.

I really liked how this book was written as a tandem story about two people writing a tandem story. That is just so cool. (My descriptions today, are just so creative) I liked that you could see the two different characters through the writing style of each of the authors. And they worked so well together. I would definitely read another book from Nick Earls and Rebecca Sparrow. The chapters and two points of view flowed so well together and it just made me very happy.

I also, straight away shipped the hatred Joel and Cat had for each other. They had to end up together, that’s just how it works. I don’t know why but I really like it in books, when there are two characters who hate each other, but end up being friends or more. No spoilers for this book though.

This book was a lot of fun and was very honest. I liked that and it made it feel more relatable and realistic. It was very cute and sweet in the way that they gradually started to hate each other less and less, but remained in denial. I loved both the main characters, with all my heart. Though both of their best friends were kind of annoying and deserved to end up together. I mean that in the nicest way.

The one thing I didn’t like about this book, was that I read it as an ebook. I don’t really like staring at screens and would prefer to read off paper. That is just my opinion. I also found that there were a couple of mistakes in the ebook with spelling and grammar. This hardly counts as a negative though, because it has nothing to do with the story.

To conclude, I could recommend this to anyone in need of a laugh. This book is just so funny. If you are into young adult books at all, I would highly recommend this to you. This book is cute and funny, with some serious parts and the cover is awesome. It is written so well and is easy to read and hard to put down. I would definitely read any  book written by Nick Earls and Rebecca Sparrow and I really hope they do write together again. I love, love, loved this book and will re-read it for sure.


Have you read this book? What did you think? I would love to hear from you!

I sorry that this post is late, but I will do my best to keep this weeks posts on time for you.

I love you all and hope you liked this.

Virtual hugs,

BelleInfini

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Joel And Cat Set The Story Straight

Leave a Reply

