Book Review – All The Bright Places

Book Review Friday! Welcome!

Book: All The Bright Places

Author: Jennifer Niven

Year Published: 2015

Genre: Young Adult

Rating: 4

all-the-bright-places-jkt

Theodore Finch wants to take his own life.

I’m broken and no one can fix it.

Violet Markey is devastated by her sister’s death.

In that instant we went plowing through the guardrail, my words died too.

They meet on the ledge of the school bell tower, and so their story begins. It’s only together they can be themselves.

I send a message to Violet : ‘You are all the colors in one, at full brightness.’

‘You’re so weird, Finch. But that’s the nicest thing anyone’s ever said to me.’

But, as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. How far will Violet go to save the boy she has come to love?

This book was so captivating and beautiful and I found it extremely difficult to stop reading to eat and sleep and all that stuff. (SO overrated) It was very funny in places, sweet in others, but for the most part this book was very serious. I didn’t know where the story was going, which was unusual and I was happily surprised for the most part.

The two characters were beautiful and I wish we could have a book of just Violet and Finch being happy eternally, or something. They just worked so beautifully together. I do wish that we could have gotten to know the characters a little bit better. What can you do, though? I just didn’t feel like I knew the characters as well as I would have liked to.

Finch was a bit of a puzzle for me and I could never quite work him out. I know there were pieces missing (I mean obviously), but I just didn’t get him. The way he changed who he was every few weeks, was confusing and I don’t think I really understand why. Maybe, the whole story was just over my head and I didn’t have enough experience to understand, but that’s how I felt.

(Potential spoilers) I really enjoyed their (extremely) gradual romance and I loved their constant denial. I found it a little bit refreshing, in comparison to some other young adult stories, where the characters get straight to the point, if you know what I mean.

All-the-Bright-Places-jkt-1659

I liked the idea that they got to know each other through working together on a school project. (A bit like in Joel and Cat Set The Story Straight, which I reviewed last week. Are you seeing a trend in my current reading material?) I don’t know why, but I like the idea that they came together through that.

I loved the two points of view. I just love getting to see two sides of the same story! I also very much like the cover of the book. It’s cute and sweet, though slightly deceptive, but I’ll get to that.

The one real negative I have for this book… is the ending. I will admit, I am a sucker for a happy ending. And this one did not have a slight bit of happy. Some of you may disagree with me, but….. FIGHT ME! I don’t know, I just don’t see the point of these kinds of endings in books. The character did not really learn anything, they are just left feeling guilty and above all, confused. That is also how I felt. Guilty and confused. And I don’t like feeling like that. I just feel very bad for Violet and confused. I’M JUST CONFUSED, OKAY? To be honest, I loved the book up until that point, but the ending was just stupid! I don’t mean any disrespect and I’m sure many people loved it, but it wasn’t for me.

End of rant.

tumblr_nl2wopBg0r1uph55so1_1280

To conclude, this book is for you if you don’t mind some darker young adult for breakfast. (Wait, what?) I think this is a very important book and I really enjoyed it. I think I might appreciate it more, if a read it again. If you don’t like sad endings, I would not recommend this for you. It really was a lovely book though, it just wasn’t my piece of literary pie. (What am I on about?) Yeah, so I think this book, is most definitely in line for a re-read (mostly just to check that I read the ending right.)

Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Do you agree or disagree with any part of my review?


I would love to hear from y’all!

Please excuse my over tiredness and lack of good English.

Lots of love,

BelleInfini

2 thoughts on “Book Review – All The Bright Places

Leave a Reply

