Book Review – Dorothy Must Die

HI guys, I’m alive! Good to see you. I’m very excited to be giving you this review, because I’ve been terrible with schedule lately. It might be a short review, but it’s better than nothing, right?

Book: Dorothy Must Die

Author: Danielle Paige

Year Published: 2014

Genre: Young Adult, Fairytale Retelling

Rating: 3

url

I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.

But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. But I never expected Oz to look like this. A place where Good Witches can’t be trusted and Wicked Witches may just be the good guys. A place where even the yellow brick road is crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy.

My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked, and I’ve been given a mission:

Remove the Tin Woodman’s Heart.

Steal the Scarecrow’s Brain.

Take the Lion’s Courage.

And then…

Dorothy Must Die.

dmd

I was so excited to finally be reading this book! I have been meaning to read this for a long time and it’s been readily available on my shelf for ages, so it was about time.

To be perfectly honest, I did have high expectations for this book. I try not to generally, but this book was so hyped that I couldn’t help it.

I loved the idea and the idea of retelling the story of the Wizard of Oz. I don’t think I’ve ever read a fairytale retelling before (not that I can think of), so I was also keen because of that.

My main problem with this book, is that I just didn’t get the main character. I guess, it happens. She just really annoyed me and I couldn’t work her out. She just couldn’t make her mind up about things and she thought a lot about things and still couldn’t decide. She couldn’t decide what she thought of her mother. She couldn’t decide what she thought of Nox. And she couldn’t decide who’s side she was on.

I didn’t click with her. Do you know what I mean? Please tell me you know what I mean.

middle_58e772ba7c998431d917ba417255722468_dorothymustdie_quote_3

I thought the world building was awesome. It was different and I found it interesting and wanted to know more. I also, liked how it made you think about good and bad. I found myself wondering if our world was that different from Oz, in that you never knew who to trust. And even when you do trust someone, you can never be 100% sure on their intentions or motives. Unless, you know, it’s your mum.

The romance in this book… kind of sucks. I would guess, that it probably improves in the next book, but I’m not sure. I know, romance is not the main theme of this book, so I find that part of the story distracting and unnecessary. I feel like Amy and Nox are tied together in some way. Fate or something. So, I guess we’ll see…

middle_32b1435a0ec33424d11baf273d87bec736_dorothymustdie_quote_2

I think, that I’ll have to check out the sequel at some point, only because I need to finish what I started, but I don’t think I’ll be in any hurry.

Overall, this book was good. I want to say that it was great, but it’s hard to when you don’t love/get the main character. Oz was awesome and the idea was unique and interesting. It made me question, morals and good and bad, which is always a good sign. I would recommend this for anyone who likes young adult, girl against world stories or fairytale retellings.

Have you read this book? What did you think? Do you agree/disagree with me?

Hope to hear from you guys!

BelleInfini ❤

3 thoughts on “Book Review – Dorothy Must Die

Leave a Reply

