Book Review – Clockwork Angel

Book: Clockwork Angel

Author: Cassandra Clare

Year Published: 2010

Genre: Young adult, fantasy literature, adventure

Rating: 4.75/5

81tPvW3NBvL

Magic is dangerous – but love is more dangerous still

When sixteen-year-old Tessa Gray arrives in England during the reign of Queen Victoria, something terrifying is waiting for her in London’s Downworld, where vampires, warlocks and other supernatural folk stalk the gaslit streets. Friendless and hunted, Tess seeks refuge with the Shadowhunters, a band of warriors dedicated to ridding the world of demons. Drawn ever deeper into their world, she fins herself fascinated by – and torn between – two best friends and quickly realizes that love may be the most dangerous magic of all.

First thing, the blurb is quite misleading. It makes it sound really cheesy and lame. But its not, so don’t worry. 😂

Anyways, I have wanted to read this trilogy for such a long time, after I read the Mortal Instruments and I’m so excited to finally be reading it! I was talking about books with one of my close friends (this is a fairly normal thing) and the Mortal Instruments/Infernal Devices came up. And she had the books, the whole time! I’d been waiting months to be able to buy it, but she just leant it to me. Problem solved.

Lets get on with the review.

tumblr_mb2lv9jd2x1rgerhfo1_500

Things I love –

  • The world building – I don’t know if it is the fact that it’s in the 1800’s and everything is so much classier or just that fact that there are vampires and Shadowhunters and stuff, but I love this world so much. It is just so well thought out. Like I can’t find any flaws. It could totally be a real thing.
  • Will Herondale – Holy wow, he is so beautiful. But also an asshole. Which makes the whole situation really awkward… I love him in this book, but I also hate him. Yep. I don’t really get it either.
  • Jem Carstairs – *dramatic sigh* Could he get any more perfect. He’s gorgeous and a perfect gentleman. But nooo, he was just too perfect, wasn’t he Cassie? (SPOILER) He had to be freaking dying. I hate my life.
  • Tessa is me. I am Tessa. We are the same person. I mean, we both love books. That is probably the only similarity. What I mean is that I felt like I could really relate to her, even though I have never been through anything vaguely like she has.
  • I don’t know who to choose. I still don’t even though I’m almost finished the series. These are the things that keep me up at night.
  • I love the plot twists. Expect the unexpected when reading this. tumblr_mu5o2tdbqf1rwv7vwo1_500

Things I don’t love

  • I think I have a vague idea of what is going to happen at the end, because I read the whole Mortal Instruments series. This scares me.
  • And also makes me want to cry. In a dark corner.
  • I thought there was going to be a love triangle, but it’s actually a love pentagon. I am unsure whether this is good or bad.
  • I don’t really want to finish this series, because then I’ll be almost up to date. Though I still have to read the Bane Chronicles and Tales from Shadowhunter Academy.

To conclude, I love this book. It was painful to read, in a ‘it’s a fangirl thing’ kind of way. I loved it. I would recommend this to anyone who likes fantasy or young adult or romance (or all of the above.) I definitely think that the whole series is something that you have to read at least one book from, before you decide whether you love it or hate it. The world was amazing and I would love to live in it. Whoever Tessa doesn’t end up with is mine. 😋 No negotiations. Sorry.

Have you read this book? Do you agree or disagree with anything I’ve said?

I would love to hear from you!

xo

BelleInfini ❤

6 thoughts on “Book Review – Clockwork Angel

    • belleinfini says:

      Thank you, I’ll definitely be reading and reviewing the others. I totally understand what you mean about the lost soul. I’m interested to see which love interest I choose, because at this stage I haven’t got a clue! Xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

