Book Review – Clockwork Prince

Book: Clockwork Prince (Infernal Devices #2)

Author: Cassandra Clare

Year Published: 2011

Genre: Young adult, fantasy, romance

Rating: 4.5/5

616NNVHj-hL

Love and lies can corrupt even the purest heart…

In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, while her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettles her. But something is changing in Will – the wall he has built around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers to who she is and what she was born to do? As their search for the truth leads the three friends into peril, Tessa’s heart is increasingly torn, especially when one of their own betrays them…

I read this a few weeks ago, but only got around to reviewing it now, so bear with me while I try to remember what happened. It’s annoying too, because I read Clockwork Princess straight afterward and now they’re kind of blurred together in my mind and it’s hard to remember where one finished and the other started. Anyway…

tumblr_n3vi4wWY4m1r9jybbo1_400

Will *dramatic sigh*

Things I like –

  • Firstly can I mention that I have major cover love for this whole series? They’re so pretty and flow so nicely. I think I like Clockwork Angel’s cover the best, because, you know, Will. If you haven’t read the series yet, you probably won’t understand.
  • Jem is so gorgeous and sweet and I’m really happy for him, that Tessa is making him happier and healthier. (SPOILER) And when he proposed, I was crying, I was so happy for him.
  • Also, I was concerned when I read the blurb that Will or Jem would play a part in the betrayal of the Institute, but you can rest assured that neither of them do. I have no idea why I ever doubted them. I think they just both seemed TO perfect. I don’t know.
  • Magnus is just perfect as always.
  • I loved the plot twist at the end, (SPOILER) with Cecily turning up at the Institute. I had no idea where that was going to lead.
  • Again, the world building in the book was brilliant and I would love to live in this world.
images

Jem *another dramatic sigh*

Things I didn’t like – 

  • Tessa frustrated me in this book. She went from one guy to another overnight. I kind of wanted to punch her (and I am not an aggressive person at all). She really didn’t deserve either of them. They were both so dedicated and adorable and perfect and she just stomped all over that. I understand that she can’t choose (I really do, I can’t choose either) and that the boys are connected and loving one means loving the other, but seriously woman! (As you can tell, I’m a very passionate reader. It’s only weird if you don’t embrace it)
  • When you find out what actually happened to Will! 😭😭 And (SPOILER) he’s not actually cursed. And then he’s finally allowed to love Tessa, but it’s already too late! 😭😭 I was so torn between being happy for Jem and dying because Will is even more broken. 😓
  • Let’s just say I cried a lot in this book

But I loved it!

tumblr_myxncp1YyE1sww32po1_500

Will again (but seriously, guys should take notes)

This book was a fangirl’s dream. Equal parts pain and happiness. I would recommend this to anyone who likes young adult fantasy romance kind of stuff. If you don’t like romance, just don’t read it. The world building was flawless and  I just loved it so much. I will definitely be reading this again sometime. The whole series is amazing, but I think it’s something that you either love or hate.

So, there you go! I should have a review for Clockwork Princess up in the next couple of days, if you’re interested.

Have you read this book? Have you read the rest of the series? What do you think of it? Do you agree with what I’ve said? Disagree?

Hope to hear from you!

All the love,

BelleInfini ❤

One thought on “Book Review – Clockwork Prince

Leave a Reply

