Book Review – Clockwork Princess

Book: Clockwork Princess (Infernal Devices #3)

Author: Cassandra Clare

Year Published: 2013

Genre: Young adult, fantasy, romance

Rating: 4.75/5

CLOCKWORKPRINCESSCOVERSPECIAL2-265x400

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy.

Tessa Gray should be happy – aren’t all brides happy? Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her.

Dun dun dun! It sounds so dramatic. Trust me though, it is. It definitely lived up to the description ‘the breathtaking conclusion’. At least for me it did and if you haven’t noticed already, I am a very passionate person when it comes to reading.

Let’s get straight into it – BEWARE, CONTAINS MILD SPOILERS

6138375_orig

Things I loved –

  • The whole demon pox thing. 😂 I’m sorry, I know it was tragic for Gideon and Gabriel Lightwood, but I just found the whole situation totally hilarious. Their father got what he deserved. I was with Will on this one.
  • The ending! Oh my goodness, it was perfect. Well, as perfect as it could possibly end up. I think she finished it all off nicely and I felt complete after reading it. I really loved it.
  • And the epilogue. I think I read it about three times, just because I wasn’t ready for it to finish. I cried every single time.
  • I loved the part, when Will was dying (not the fact the he was dying, but it was inevitable,) and everyone was sharing memories of him. I was so not balling in the middle of English class, when I read this.
  • I loved how everyone who mattered ended up happy. There were perfect pairs in the end and I just love a bittersweet ending.
  • I wish there would be more books with Will in them. It makes me really sad that that’s it. I’ll never get to read anymore about him.
  • I really hope that there is more about Tessa and Jem in the new books coming out.
  • I’m so glad Tessa got a chance with both Will and Jem. I also wish things could work out this perfectly in real life.
  • Will. Will. Will.

tumblr_mmix8hnqN51qdip7jo1_500

Things I didn’t love

  • They didn’t find a cure until, you know… It’s so difficult to review this book, without giving the whole damn thing away.
  • Mortmain was creepy and intense. He went to so much trouble to ‘create’ Tessa, just to get a spell off his dad. Not even to talk to him, just straight to business. I think this guy needs to get his priorities straight.
  • I also felt sorry for him, because there was so much build up to ‘killing the whole Shadowhunter race,’ and BAM! he’s gone. That makes no sense.
  • We never got to find out how Mortmain as a mortal managed to be able to do magic. That confused me for the whole series.
  • I thought Will being able to see and communicate with ghosts was going to play a bigger part in the story, but it was only relevant in two scenes (? I think). I was a little disappointed with that.

Overall, I loved this book and the whole series in fact. I will definitely be reading it again, just to torture myself. There is definitely something about the way Cassandra Clare writes her characters that just gets me every single time. I love all these characters to bits (even the evil ones.) The story is just so well thought out. It’s complete genius! I cannot wait for the next books to start coming out in her Last Hours and Dark Artifices series. Until then, I still have to read The Bane Chronicles, Tales from Shadowhunter Academy and The Shadowhunters Codex. I’m not obsessed what are you talking about.

And the last and most important question… Team Jem or Team Will?

I love both of them, but today, right now, I’m going to have to say Will. I was Team Jem up until this last book. I think it is the broken soul thing. Or the ducks. Or the books. Or demon pox. Just everything really. So to finish this off, have a few Will-related things. You’re welcome.

9d9a68e0524337cdc6512934594b4eae

cec3db741431a9a0280279a8bd1676dd

tumblr_no1illkzYL1tfh2kmo1_1280

1384739423381206

Lots of love,

BelleInfini ❤

One thought on “Book Review – Clockwork Princess

Leave a Reply

