Oblivion

Most people want to be remembered. They want to be immortalised in sculpture and literature. They want to be a role model and inspire people.

They want to leave behind a legacy.

They don’t want to fall victim to oblivion.


I watched the movie, The Fault in Our Stars about a week ago. I’ve been putting it off for ages and ages after reading the book. I knew I would watch it and just be a total wreck for the whole entire movie. And truth be told, I was.

Anyway, I watched the movie and one part that struck me was Augustus’s fear of oblivion.

tumblr_ml5yzsPJJQ1rukntao1_500

I decided that I have to agree with Hazel’s opinion.

“There will come a time when all of us are dead. All of us. There will come a time when there are no human beings remaining to remember that anyone ever existed or that our species ever did anything. There will be no one left to remember Aristotle or Cleopatra, let alone you. Everything that we did and built and wrote and thought and discovered will be forgotten and all of this will have been for naught. Maybe this time is coming soon and maybe it’s million of years away, but even if we survive the collapse of our sun, we will not survive forever. There was a time before organisms experienced consciousness, and there will be a time after. And if the inevitability of human oblivion worries you, I encourage you to ignore it. God knows that’s what everyone else does.”

-Hazel Grace Lancaster (The Fault In Our Stars, by John Green)

Oblivion is inevitable.

Oblivion is not just possible, but certain. We cannot predict exactly when or how or why, but we won’t matter anymore. We go through our lives, with the false knowledge that we are important and we are all here for a reason.

Believe that if you will. It’s not my place to tell you what to believe.

But the way I see it… We don’t matter. We’re not important. And one day nobody will remember us or anything that we’ve done.

You may think that is a tragically morbid thought, but I find it comforting.

We can live in the moment, with as much freedom as we please, knowing that someday whatever the result, it won’t even matter.

You can laugh at other people and their self-importance, because you know, someday they won’t matter.

You can dream ridiculous dreams and do incredible things, for someday, you won’t even matter.

I can look at our ridiculous stuffed up modern society and see through all the cracks. I can see the rich lapping it up and poor scraping to get by and I know, that in the end we’ll all be the same. And we all won’t matter.

When going through a tough time, people always tell you, “Look at the bigger picture, there are people who have it worse than you.”

Trust me, I know. People have it far worse than I do. I also know, that we are all the same and after this life we will all be the same. Our ‘fortune’ in this lifetime will not favour us for eternity.

It’s like the popular kids in high school. They are convinced that just because high school was easy for them, the rest of their lives will be the same. Nope. Nuh-uh. News flash: School captain is still a check-out chick.

After high school finishes. It doesn’t matter anymore.

After the world ends. There will be no one to remember let alone care about our existence.

Most people want to be remembered for being talented or intelligent or beautiful. And they might be momentarily. Maybe even for our lifetime.

But our lifetime will end and we will all be the same. Oblivion will consume us and we will no longer matter.


I know a lot of people will read this and think I’m a lunatic. Or a pessimist.

Both are quite plausible.

It’s something to think about, I suppose.

Anyway, wherever you are and whoever you are. I hope you have a nice day in our beautiful little infinity.

Do you see what I did there?

Blog name reference. *high fives self*

Okay I should go,

Love Ellie ❤

Leave a Reply

