New Things and the Fine Art of Sucking

I turned 16 in May and I got my Learner’s permit to drive. I was ecstatic to have passed the test and I got in the car and tried to drive and frankly… I sucked. I could hardly move forward without stalling. To be honest, I was so damn good at stalling, I could have stalled an automatic.

I was pretty bummed, because I just wasn’t getting anywhere and everyone else made it seem so simple and basic and I just… really sucked. I had it down to a fine art.

ae162677ee8e961fb457facc2d47ba05

But then I realised that that was pretty normal. When you try something new for the first time, 90% of the time, you’re gonna be terrible. No-one is completely flawless and instantly talented at everything. I know this is a bit of an obvious thing, but at the time, it seemed like the end of the world. Yes, I am that kid. Sometimes the obvious things are the things we forget the easiest. So here’s a reminder.

Some wise words from Jake the Dog…

url

I kept at it and kept trying and gradually… slowly and ever so tediously I started to improve. Now, I’m even sort of good. Well, at least I move forward. The rest are the minor details.

The thing is, to learn and master new things, you have to stick with them. You have to do the best that you can as often as you can. You know the cliche saying, ‘Practice makes perfect?’ It is genuinely good advice and it works.

This doesn’t just apply to driving though, it applies to everything. Even things you do everyday. What is the saying? ‘Don’t practice until you get it right, practice it until you can’t get it wrong.’

659aca879036b6c16a0774abd34edd69

If it’s hard, you’re meant to learnt something from it. The harder something is that more rewarding it will be when you finally master it. And you’ll be so much stronger at the end of it.

So, is there something in your life that you could improve in? Work, school, art, dance, brushing your teeth? I’m just kidding.

Or am I?

tumblr_m3f625G06v1r4ip35o3_1280

Anyway. This week, I want you to think about something you could improve in, in your life, and maybe do something about it. Is there something new you’ve tried recently that you need to keep at? Or something you were putting off doing, because of fear of failure?

I am almost okay at driving now, but I have to stick with it and keep practicing. I have to keep improving so I can get my P’s next winter (I’m from Australia BTWπŸ˜‰.) That’s my goal and that is what I’m going to do about it.

What about you? I would love to hear from you! πŸ™‚

Love,

Ellie ❀

3 thoughts on “New Things and the Fine Art of Sucking

Leave a Reply

