Book Review – Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse

Book: Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #3)

Author: Rick Riordan

Year published: 2007

Genre: Young adult, fantasy, adventure, Greek mythology

Rating: 4.75/5

9780141346816_13

It’s not every day you find yourself in combat with a half-lion, half-human.

But when you’re the son of a Greek god, it happens. And now my friend Annabeth is missing, a goddess is in chains and only five half-blood heroes can join the quest to defeat the doomsday monster.

Oh and guess what. The Oracle has predicted that not all of us will survive…

Oh my gods, guys, I’m currently reading The Mark of Athena and I haven’t even written this book review yet. I seriously need to get my act together. I’m so behind. Anyway, I hope you like this. 🙂

Pros

  • I really like Thalia as a character. She’s so tough and though she’s a little defensive, I really like her and how her character develops throughout the book.
  • Percy’s commentary… No matter how tense or life-threatening the situation may be, he still has something stupid and Seaweed brain-ish to say. And that is why we love him.
  • Holy Hera, Apollo’s poetry sucks. But it’s really funny for some reason.
  • Baby Nico with his Mythomagic cards and figurines and his questions. If only he knew…  *steps into shadows cryptically*
  • They have a dam problem. 😂
  • The chapter titles are brilliant as always and I’m going to seriously miss them in Heroes of Olympus.
  • I like that Percy learns some lessons in this book and makes some mistakes. Even just to prove that he is actually human.
  • Percy being so worried for Annabeth and not even realising why. asdfghjkl; Percabeth is almost real.
  • Now for the serious stuff. Rick Riordan is a wizard as always and his writing style is so fun and easy to read. I truly think someone of any age could read this book and enjoy it. The book is paced brilliantly and it is literally impossible to get bored in the process of reading this book. The characters are so gorgeous and I wish they were my friends in real life (mostly because they’re all badass and would protect me from monsters, but that’s not the point.) Rick makes learning about Greek Mythology fun and almost realistic. I now have an obsession with Greek mythology that may be considered unnatural, but oh well.tumblr_mus2np732Q1qfrrfso1_500

Cons

  • As always with these books I find them really difficult to fault, because they are so brilliant and perfect. But some things I didn’t love (all of them being what the characters did and I understand they were necessary) include
  • Annabeth was missing for pretty much the whole book and I really missed her being able to kind of balance Percy out.
  • Luke is a tool.

tumblr_mdwtikbb3f1rylxyvo1_500To sum it up. This review is quite similar to my previous reviews on Percy Jackson books, in that it is really hard to think of things that I don’t like about it. I just love these books okay? The author is amazing and has made me develop a crazy obsession with Greek mythology. The characters, plot, pacing and writing style are all perfection and it’s just… Sooo good. I can’t think of a word to accurately explain how I feel about the perfection of these books.

You should read this if you are a human.

Hahaha, I’m serious.

Just do it.

Anyway… I’m going to try really hard to catch up on these reviews and get my priorities straight.

I hope you are having a lovely day. 🙂

XO Ellie ❤

3 thoughts on “Book Review – Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse

Leave a Reply

