Book Review – Carry On: The Rise and Fall of Simon Snow

Book: Carry On: The Rise and Fall of Simon Snow

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Published: 6 October 2015

Genre: Young adult, Romance, Mystery, Adventure, Perfection 😉

Rating: 500000/5 (or 5/5 if you’re picky)

Blurb:

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here – it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On: The Rise and Fall of Simon Snow is a ghost story, a love story, and a mystery. It had just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story – but far, far more monsters.

IMG_0644

WARNING: This review may contain excessive fangirling. Read at own risk.

Oh my goodness. Oh my goodness. I’ve finally read this. I’m so happy right now.

This books finally ended up in my letterbox on Monday. Finally. Seriously, I pre-ordered it, shouldn’t it have come sooner? Is it just me?

Anyway, I better get started.

Things I love:

This is now potentially my favourite book ever. It is definitely the best book I’ve read this year. And I’ve read a lot of amazing books this year. Every book I read from now on, will just be in the shadow of the utter and total perfection of this book. I don’t know how to move on from this. Help me.

I was looking forward to reading this with every fibre of my being and I had freaking high expectations. (I didn’t mean to, but it’s Rainbow. When has she not delivered?) I was not disappointed in the slightest. This exceeded my expectations and I’m really struggling to put my love for this book into words. Can you tell? (You don’t need to answer that…)

I mean, it’s a fictional fan-fiction of a fictional book from a fictional book. I have never read anything like this, but it was so amazing.

I was a little worried before reading this that it would too much like Harry Potter or every other Chosen One story ever. But you can rest assured that it is completely and totally different. It is brilliance in it’s own way.

I just could not keep my eyes off this book. I read it in two days, during the school week. I read on the bus, during class (shh), during lunch breaks (yes, I am that kid), and then all night ignoring the ever-growing pile of homework. It was bliss.

The cover. SO beautiful. When I wasn’t reading, I was thinking about reading. When I was thinking about reading I was staring at the cover. It is gorgeous and completely captures the emotion of this book.

The POV’s were great. Though at times I just wanted to read about Simon and Baz, because duh.

I love Simon and Baz so much. I was screaming. And arm flapping. And giggling. (Do you think I’m insane yet?) I wish this book never ended. I would read all of the books of them just, you know, being happy. Making toast and drinking tea and going to college and kissing. That would be beautiful.

Things I loved slightly less:

I did not like Agatha, she pissed me off.

I kind of wish there was more kissing…

Pacing: To be honest, not a lot happened in the story, but emotionally it was a freaking roller coaster.

Writing Style: It is Rainbow Rowell. The writing style is obviously brilliant. If you haven’t read a Rainbow Rowell book yet, please at least read one. She is my favourite author and I just can’t think of the words. Asdgljhdiotnjju

Characters: I loved and hated parts of all of the characters, which is how it should be, I think.

Plot: Not a lot of events occurred, really, but emotionally the book was fabulous. The plot twists and turns, were mostly unpredictable, though I guessed a few of them. (Guessed, being the key word.)

To conclude, this book is my favourite so far this year and one of my favourites ever. I never wanted it to end and that just reaffirmed my total trust in Rainbow, to just be completely brilliant. Everything about this book made me happy and made me fangirl… like a lot. I would recommend this to anyone who hasn’t read a Rainbow Rowell book yet. If you ever even considered Drarry (Draco and Harry) being a thing (You know you did), you will love this. If you have ever loved a Chosen One story, this is for you. If you are a human then you should just read this. 🙂

Have you read this yet? What did you think? Have you reviewed it yet? Comment the link if you have, I would love to see your thoughts!


Hey, hey.

So the layout for this review is a little bit different to usual. Let me know what you think of that if you like. 🙂

Also, I”m really sorry I’m such a terrible blogger. One week I write one post and the next I post every day. And today, I post twice. I’m really sorry about the irregularity and I hope that I’ll eventually find a routine. I’m still pretty new to this. I also have like 5 books that I’ve read that I haven’t reviewed yet, so I will be trying to catch those up.

Also, I have a couple of tags and awards that I need to do and hope to soon. And I suck at regularly reading all your posts. So, I’m really sorry about that. I’ll try to keep up, but if there is anything you particular want me to see, feel free to comment and link to them. I would not mind at all. 🙂

Okay, I better go back to that homework I’ve been avoiding. See you later 😛

Love you lots,

Ellie ❤

6 thoughts on “Book Review – Carry On: The Rise and Fall of Simon Snow

Leave a Reply

