Book Review – Everything, Everything

Hey guys,

How are you? I genuinely want to know 🙂

Well, today I have a book review for you. I recently bought and read Everything Everything, by Nicola Yoon, after hearing all the hype about it. Honestly, it didn’t disappoint.

Book: Everything, Everything, by Nicola Yoon

Published: September 1st 2015

Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary

Page Count: 320

Goodreads Rating: 4.02

IMG_0636

Synopsis (From Goodreads)

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mum and my nurse Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black – black t-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Characters:

Maddy is a girl with SCID (Severe Combined Immunodeficiency), which means she can’t leave her house without getting sick. So she lives in her own clean bubble world. I liked Maddy as a character. I loved how her character developed throughout the book. She never knew she needed freedom and love and the world, until she almost had it. I didn’t really relate to her as a character (except for the appreciation of books), but I found her voice strong, hopeful and quite witty. She had this gorgeous optimism about everything that was really refreshing. Maddy isn’t my favourite character ever, but it was enjoyable to read about her.

Olly was gorgeous and I have a bit of a crush on him. He was a very interesting character with his theories and his pessimism about most things. I loved him. He also had this slight vulnerability, which was kind of endearing. His devotion to Maddy was both beautiful and tragic. I really enjoyed reading about Olly.

Screen Shot 2015-11-14 at 4.19.29 PM

Plot: 

I loved the idea of this story. SCID is something that I’m personally quite interested in. I actually did a report on it for Advanced Science a few months ago, so I already knew quite a bit about the disease. I found the overall plot and story interesting and it really was a joy to read. I had a few issues, however. I did not like the insta-love. I just didn’t have enough time to work out what I thought of it or to truly root for them. It just felt rushed and too quick for me to become invested in it, if that makes sense.

I did grow to love their relationship as the story went on and got to know each other better. It made me smile a bit. The actual plot and pace of the story was perfect, in my opinion. I wanted to keep reading it and didn’t want it to finish.

Oh, and the infamous plot twist. I managed to keep away from spoilers before reading this and wasn’t really prepared for it. Trust me though, it’s mostly a good one and completely changes the outcome of the story. Honestly, I did guess that it was going to happen, beforehand, but it wasn’t really obvious. To me, this plot twist did kind of seem like an afterthought, but I think it might have been just me. Overall, I loved the story and there were some beautiful, deep and meaningful, thought-provoking parts.

Screen Shot 2015-11-14 at 4.26.16 PM

Writing Style:

I thoroughly enjoyed how this story was told thought Maddy’s POV and other documents, media and images. It made the story so much more 3-dimensional. I loved reading Maddy and Olly’s IMs, that was a lot of fun.  The images were beautiful and it really was a complete joy to read.

Screen Shot 2015-11-14 at 4.35.16 PM

Conclusion:

The book was beautiful. It was funny, witty and surprisingly meaningful. I had a few problems with the plot, but aside from that I really enjoyed it. It has a bit of a The Fault in Our Stars feel to it (though this one has a slightly better ending, in my opinion.) I would highly recommend this this to anyone who is interested in Young Adult, Contemporary or Romance.

My Rating: 4 stars

Screen Shot 2015-11-14 at 4.05.23 PM


What were you thoughts on this book? Have you read it yet? Do you plan to?

I tried a bit of a different layout for this review. Let me know what you think of it, it you think about it at all. I won’t take offence if you don’t. 🙂

I hope you’re having a fabulous day!

Love Ellie ❤

5 thoughts on “Book Review – Everything, Everything

  1. Pingback: November Wrap Up |

Leave a Reply

