Book Review – Will Grayson, Will Grayson

Hi friends šŸ™‚

Here is a book review for you. Hope you enjoy.

Book: Will Grayson, Will Grayson, by John Green and David Levithan

Published: 6th April, 2010

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary

Page Count: 310

Goodreads Rating: 3.9

IMG_0559

Synopsis (from Goodreads)

Will Grayson meets Will Grayson. One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two strangers are about to cross paths. From that moment on, their world will collide and lives intertwine.

It’s not that far from Evanston to Naperville, but Chicago suburbanites Will Grayson and Will Grayson might as well live on different planets. When fate delivers them both to the same surprising crossroads, the Will Graysons find their lives overlapping and hurtling in new and unexpected directions. With a push from friends new and old – including the massive and massively fabulous, Tiny Cooper, offensive lineman and musical theatre auteur extraordinare – Will and Will begin building towards respective romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most awesome high school musical.

Characters:

Will Grayson #1 (John Green’s Will Grayson) is a classic John Green character. He’s nerdy and quiet and a little awkward and he falls for the slightly pretentious, pretty and smart girl, who seems out of his league. He was two rules that he lives by, 1. Don’t care too much and 2. Shut up. I found this philosophy intriguing and depressively accurate and relatable. I did wonder how and when he came to the conclusion that this was a good way to live and I was a bit disappointed when we didn’t get a back story on it. However, the character development was brilliant and he was a funny a clever character.

Will Grayson #2 (David Levithan’s Will Grayson) is depressed, dark and looking for love in his Internet friend, Isaac. I LOVED this character. He was so raw and realistic. I know this doesn’t seem to be a popular opinion, but I always wanted to know more about this character and hear more of his dark sarcasm. Will Grayson # 2 was the highlight of the book for me.

Another of the important characters was Tiny Cooper. He was pretty damn fabulous and totally loveable. In a way, the story kind of revolves around Tiny and everyone’s reactions to him.

I can definitely understand why some people did not like these characters and found them tedious or annoying, but I personally loved parts of every one of them and enjoyed this story through their voices.

Screen Shot 2015-11-21 at 9.40.15 PM.png

Plot:

The plot of this book mainly revolves around Tiny Cooper and his musical ‘Tiny Dancer.‘ Mostly just Tiny Cooper. Will and Will are brought together by him, in a way.

The plot was fairly slow-paced, but I didn’t mind it. I constantly found myself interested and intrigued. The main point of the book, I think, is the character development of the two Will Graysons, which was brilliant. The character development, I mean.

This book covers has elements of both same sex romance and straight romance, which I loved. I’ve been really interested in reading more LGBT books lately, so I was definitely satisfied. This also covered the issue of depression, which is something close to my heart, and though its confronting and/or confusing for a lot of people, it’s important to understand.

One thing I really loved about this book, was the lack of overused plot tropes and cliches. I kept guessing what would happen, based on stereotypes and cliches, but I constantly found myself surprised with how the story turned out. I was exciting. And refreshing and different.

Also, I loved the ending. It was perfect. I will say no more.

Other than the fact that it was a little slow and not at all what I expected, I really liked it and would definitely read it again.

Screen Shot 2015-11-21 at 9.44.58 PM.png

Writing Style:

Of the reviews I’ve read of this book, I hear a lot of people saying that all John Green’s characters are very similar and maybe they are. But I still love them and I still love all of his writing. His writing is so clever and funny and honestly, I’ll read anything he writes.

Then there is David Levithan. I have never read another book by David Levithan, but I think I am going to have to. I LOVED his character, his realness and honesty. Do you guys have any suggestions?

Screen Shot 2015-11-21 at 9.47.53 PM.png

Conclusion:

I really enjoyed this book. The characters were gorgeous and honest and relatable. The story may have been a little slow-paced and I had a few unanswered questions at the end. But other than that, I loved it and would highly recommend!

4.5 stars

Screen Shot 2015-11-21 at 9.34.03 PM.png


 

6 days left until Summer holidays for me.

I can’t wait to come back.

Also, I just reached 100 followers!!! What the heck. I will do a full post on it as soon as I have the chance.

Love you lots, thanks for being cool šŸ™‚

Ellie ā¤

9 thoughts on “Book Review – Will Grayson, Will Grayson

  1. Pingback: November Wrap Up |
  2. mudandstars says:

    Great review! I’ve only read one John Green book (The Fault in our Stars) – I’ve tried a few others but couldn’t really get into them, however reading your review has made me want to pick them up! Also if you want to read more David Levithan, I recommend Every Day, it was an amazing book! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

